lemon ricotta poppyseed cookies

aka the best lemon cookie i've ever made

lemon ricotta poppyseed cookies

aka the best lemon cookie i’ve ever made

Surprise surprise! I made another cookie for you! I am making a lot of cookies nowadays, and I can’t wait for you all to try them in due time. In due time! But today we are making these gorgeous lemon cookies.

I shared this in my Instagram reel, but these cookies were inspired in part by Connor’s grandma. She was obsessed with lemon desserts. I never got to meet her, but I’ve heard lots of stories and seen lots of pictures. She was about 4’10” and was the sweetest lady. She survived the internment camps of WWII and went on to live a really beautiful life. I wish I could wow her with these cookies because I really think she’d love them! And I think you’ll really love them too!

I’m not exaggerating about these being the best lemon cookies I’ve ever made. I haven’t made hundreds of lemon cookies, ok, but I’ve made a few and this one wins by far!!! It’s a soft, lemon poppyseed cookie with a lemon poppyseed glaze on top. Lot’s of poppyseeds, I know, so maybe don’t eat a full batch of these the day you have to take a drug test (btw I didn’t know if that was a made up thing or not, but after a quick google search it is in fact true).

Oh! And we can’t forget about the ricotta. Lemon + ricotta are a match made in heaven, but I’ve never used ricotta cheese in cookies before. I was afraid that it would cause these cookies to have a weird texture, but boy was I wrong (in the best possible way). The ricotta just makes these cookies soft. But not cakey soft or weird soft, the best kind of soft cookie.

currently wearing

OK OK I wasn’t kidding about living in my cookie club boxer shorts. It is getting HOT outside and I cannot stand anything tight or heavy on my legs, so these boxer shorts are perfection. Light-weight, airy, and the red color is the best pop for the summer. I’m restocking the boxers and the shirt soon, so if you don’t see the size you want, check back in a couple weeks!

the recipe

As always, I’ve put the recipe in a pdf so you can easily save it to your phone or print it off! For this recipe I’ve included everything in grams (as well as cups, don’t worry) for all my fellow bakers that love using a scale (forehead kiss for all of you). And if you are interested in dabbling with a scale, which I highly recommend, this is the one I use! It’s affordable and works really well.

Subscribe to Premium Membership to read the rest.

Become a paying subscriber of Premium Membership to get access to this post and other subscriber-only content.

Already a paying subscriber? Sign In

Reply

or to participate.